Which countries are geographically spread over two continents?

By official count, there are eight countries that straddle two continents.
More than two-thirds of Russia lies in Asia, though about 75% of population lives in the smaller European part. Most of Turkey lies in Europe, but a tiny piece (about 3%) lies in Asia across the Bosporus Strait. While most of Egypt is in Africa, the Sinai Peninsula is physically a part of Asia. Socotra Island, which lies off the Horn of Africa, is part of the West Asian republic of Yemen. Spanish cities of Ceuta and Melilla are physically parts of Africa. Similarly, Portugal’s Madeira Island group is physically part of Africa rather than Europe. Indonesia consists of 13,700 islands. The eastern islands (including Papua, formerly known as Irian Jaya) are counted as part of Oceania rather than Asia. The US also lies on two continents – the state of Hawaii is part of Oceania.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *